• Tim Webber

LaBella Competes to Put Cancer on Ice

Today marks the conclusion of the 2019 11 Day Power Play! The 11 Day Power Play is a fundraising hockey event held annually in Buffalo, NY, to raise money for cancer organizations Roswell Park Comprehensive Cancer Center, Make A Wish, and Camp Good Days.

On July 11th, LaBella's first annual 11 Day Power Play team completed a three hour shift at the HarborCenter in Buffalo. Our participation was in honor of Ken Strell, a LaBella employee who passed away this past year. Our team raised $12,300 for cancer research and support. In all, the event has raised $1.6 Million so far!

LaBella's team played against Team Ken Strell (TKS) which was largely comprised of City of Buffalo Water Authority personnel. The game was a spirited match up with highlight reel-worthy goals and a few accidental checks into the boards. TKS jumped out to an early 2-0 lead as the two teams adjusted to each other's talents and came to grips with the reality of a fast-paced three hour game. LaBella showed some scoring prowess early in the second hour, taking a 7-3 lead, but the lead was short lived as TKS fought back to tie the game at 7. The back and forth battle continued late into the third hour. LaBella was leading 15-13 with a minute and a half to go when a tripping penalty was called. Per event rules, all penalties result in a penalty shot and TKS buried the puck into the net. TKS pulled their goaltender and, despite LaBella's valiant efforts to clear the zone, TKS scored with 4 seconds left. The end result? A 15-15 tie score.

Three hours was not enough to determine the victor; however it was just what was needed to build lasting memories and friendship between the two teams. Fun was had by all, which is just what Ken would have wanted.

Team LaBella included: Chris Bayer, Dave Engert, Aaron Schauger, Jason Ebbs, Matt Jolliff, Jeremy Deeley, Corey Rothfuss, David Paye, Mike Winderl, Jr., Mike Davis, Matt Pepe, Dylan Hitchcock, Sara Piekunka, Josh Sova, Tim Webber, Andrew Benkleman, Dennis Floss, Matt Panebianco, Mike Barbasch, and Jerry DeRomanis.